Header Side Menu Content Footer
Page d'accueil
Familles

Évaluation et diagnostic des jeunes enfants

girl sitting on the floor playing with toys

En tant que parent, il peut vous arriver de vous demander si votre jeune enfant se développe comme les autres enfants de son âge. Vous vous interrogez peut-être sur :

  • les signes pouvant dénoter un retard ou un handicap;
  • ce que vous pouvez faire si quelque chose vous inquiète;
  • ce qui se passe après un diagnostic.
Voici quelques renseignements qui peuvent vous aider.

Comment savoir si mon enfant se développe comme il se doit?
baby walking holding someone's hand for support

Les enfants acquièrent de nouvelles habiletés à différentes étapes appelées stades de développement. Ces stades s'échelonnent sur une certaine période et touchent différents aspects : les capacités sociales, les émotions, le langage, la motricité et les facultés intellectuelles. On considère qu'un enfant a un retard de développement s’il n’acquiert pas des habiletés données durant la même période que les autres enfants de son âge.
Les sites Web qui suivent indiquent les stades de développement de la naissance à l’entrée à l’école :





Les stades de développement peuvent vous renseigner sur le développement de votre enfant selon son âge. En sachant à quel moment un enfant développe habituellement des habiletés précises, il est plus facile d’obtenir un diagnostic et d’intervenir à un stade précoce.
 





Que dois-je faire si le développement de mon enfant m’inquiète?

Vos propres observations ou des commentaires faits pas d’autres personnes (comme des membres de votre famille, des amis ou le personnel de la garderie ou de l’école) peuvent être à l’origine de vos inquiétudes. Si votre enfant n’a pas acquis les habiletés prévues à chaque stade de développement, consultez son médecin. Avant votre rendez-vous, dressez la liste des habiletés que votre enfant ne possède pas encore. Il est important d’être bien préparé pour fournir au médecin les renseignements dont il a besoin. En consultant la liste des stades de développement, il vous sera plus facile de réunir tous les renseignements pour les communiquer au moment du rendez-vous.

Que dois-je faire pour que le médecin ait tous les renseignements dont il a besoin?

Il y a plusieurs choses que vous pouvez faire pour bien renseigner votre médecin.

  • Faites une bonne préparation avant le rendez-vous – Les stades de développement sont des normes reconnues partout au Canada pour mesurer le développement d’un enfant. Si vous vous préparez bien et que vous indiquez au médecin les habiletés que votre enfant n’a pas encore acquises, il lui sera plus facile de déterminer s’il est important de procéder à une évaluation. Il est utile d’apporter une liste de ce qui vous inquiète et des questions que vous avez à poser au médecin.
  • doctor holding a stethoscopy on a boy's chestParlez de vos inquiétudes au médecin dès le début de l’entretien – Si vous faites part de vos observations et de vos préoccupations au sujet du développement de votre enfant dès le début de l’entretien, le médecin pourra décider ce qui est le plus prioritaire, tenir compte de ce que vous lui dites pour son examen et prévoir du temps pour répondre à vos questions.
  • Développez une bonne relation avec le médecin – Voici ce que vous devez faire pour bien collaborer avec lui.
  • Communiquez-lui l’information – Communiquez au médecin toute l’information utile à propos de votre enfant. Il pourra faire une évaluation plus complète si vous le mettez au courant du développement, des activités quotidiennes, des symptômes et des comportements de votre enfant.
  • Écoutez-le activement – Écoutez attentivement les questions que vous pose le médecin et l’information qu’il vous donne. Évitez toute distraction pendant l’entretien, en prenant notamment soin d’éteindre votre téléphone cellulaire ou votre appareil de transmission de messages textes. Si votre enfant à des problèmes de comportement, il peut être utile d’avoir un ami ou un membre de la famille avec vous. Cette personne pourra noter les renseignements importants pour vous ou vous aider à vous occuper de l’enfant durant l’entretien.
  • N’hésitez pas à demander des précisions – Si vous ne comprenez pas bien les questions que vous pose le médecin ou l’information qu’il vous donne, demandez-lui plus de précisions. Si vous avez des doutes sur ce que dit le médecin, notamment en ce qui concerne le diagnostic, les options de traitement, les activités à faire à la maison ou les renvois à des spécialistes, posez des questions ou dites au médecin que
    Notez les renseignements importants – Il n’est pas toujours facile d’emmagasiner une grande quantité d’information à la fois. Si vous prenez des notes, il sera plus facile de savoir ce que vous avez manqué et de vous rappeler plus tard de ce qui vous a été dit.
  • Demandez quelles sont les prochaines étapes – Si votre médecin ne vous parle pas d’autres rendezvous, de renvois à des spécialistes, d’options de traitement ni d’autres évaluations, ne manquez pas de poser la question.
     

return to top

 

Il est maintenant possible de trouver beaucoup d’information sur la santé dans Internet et dans d’autres sources. Même s’il est bon de se tenir au courant en matière de santé, il ne faut pas oublier que les médecins ont de nombreuses années d’études et d’expérience et qu’ils sont les mieux placés pour poser un diagnostic.
 


Que se passera-t-il une fois que le médecin aura examiné mon enfant?

woman and girl playing with letters on the floorD’après les renseignements dont il disposera et les résultats de l’examen, votre médecin de famille ou pédiatre pourra vous renvoyer à d’autres ressources, comme :

  • un pédiatre ou un autre professionnel de la santé (physiothérapeute, ergothérapeute, orthophoniste ou audiologiste);
  • un spécialiste en santé mentale des enfants ou des adolescents;
  • le centre de consultation en développement de l’enfant;
  • d’autres spécialistes, cliniques ou ressources.

 

Si une évaluation révèle que votre enfant à un retard de développement, il est important d’obtenir une intervention précoce. Puisque l’apprentissage chez l’être humain est plus facile pendant les premières années de la vie, le moment est bien choisi pour introduire des activités de développement. Si vous parlez à votre médecin de famille ou à votre pédiatre de vos inquiétudes à propos du développement de votre enfant, les interventions pourront commencer plus tôt. 

Une intervention précoce permet d’obtenir des services adaptés aux besoins d’un enfant qui a un retard de développement ou un handicap. Un soutien est apporté à la fois à l’enfant et à la famille durant les années importantes du développement.  

J’ai discuté avec le médecin de mon enfant, mais j’ai toujours des inquiétudes. Que dois-je faire?

woman on the phone smiling

Si vous n’êtes pas en accord avec les résultats de l’évaluation de votre enfant, vous pouvez envisager les options suivantes avec votre conjoint.

  • Obtenir l’avis d’un autre professionnel – Si votre médecin n’a recommandé aucun autre examen et que vous croyez néanmoins que votre enfant a un retard de développement, vous pouvez demander l’avis d’un autre médecin.
  • Consulter un professionnel qui connaît déjà votre enfant – Si votre enfant voit déjà un autre professionnel (par exemple, un physiothérapeute, un ergothérapeute ou un orthophoniste), vous pouvez lui parler de ce qui vous inquiète. Si cette personne estime que votre enfant devrait subir une évaluation du développement, elle pourra vous aiguiller vers le centre de consultation en développement de l’enfant.
  • Connect with other professionals - If there is no other professional involved with your child, you can contact the Children’s Therapy Initiative directly to have your child seen by a physical therapist,
    occupational therapist, speech language pathologist and/or audiologist.

 

Le centre de consultation en développement de l’enfant

Le centre de consultation en développement de l’enfant offre des services d’évaluation et d’aiguillage pour les enfants d’âge préscolaire ayant un problème de développement ou de comportement ou un handicap physique. Il est possible que les familles aient à consulter plusieurs professionnels se spécialisant dans le développement de l’enfant : un pédiatre communautaire ou spécialisé dans le développement, une infirmière, un travailleur social, un psychologue clinicien, un éducateur des jeunes enfants, un orthophoniste,un ergothérapeute, ou un physiothérapeute.

Le centre de consultation se trouve au Centre des sciences de la santé de l’Hôpital pour enfants de Winnipeg. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, utilisez les coordonnées suivantes pour vous adresser au centre de consultation :

Centre de consultation en développement de l’enfant
Hôpital pour enfants de Winnipeg
CK253-640, rue Sherbrooke
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3A 1S1
Téléphone : 204 787-4379 ou 204 787-2423

 
Le centre de consultation est un service provincial. Des cliniques rurales sont offertes régulièrement à des endroits désignés dans la province.


Qu’est-ce qu’une évaluation du développement?

Une évaluation du développement est une évaluation du développement d’un enfant portant sur différents aspects – la motricité, le langage, les facultés intellectuelles, les capacités sociales et les émotions. Elle peut renseigner les spécialistes sur les types de traitement qui conviennent et les ressources ou services communautaires pouvant aider l’enfant à poursuivre son développement. Selon les besoins de l’enfant et de la famille, l’évaluation peut être effectuée par un ou plusieurs spécialistes, notamment :

boy playing with toys with a woman smiling at him
  • des physiothérapeutes
  • des ergothérapeutes,
  • des orthophonistes,
  • des psychologues cliniques,
  • des pédiatres spécialistes du développement,
  • des infirmières,
  • des travailleurs sociaux,
  • d’autres personnes.


Les spécialistes peuvent faire effectuer à votre enfant différentes tâches pour évaluer ses forces et ses faiblesses. Selon l’âge de l’enfant et les aspects de son développement qui sont à l’origine des préoccupations, l’évaluation peut inclure la manipulation d’un jeu de construction, des casse-têtes, des exercices sur le langage, des activités physiques et l’observation de l’enfant pendant qu’il joue.

return to top

À titre de parent, quel est mon rôle dans le processus d’évaluation?

Votre rôle consiste principalement à transmettre l’information. Puisque c’est vous qui connaissez le mieux votre enfant, les renseignements que vous communiquez sont très importants pour permettre de faire une bonne évaluation. En observant votre enfant pendant les activités d’évaluation, vous pouvez dire si ce que voient les spécialistes est représentatif de ce que fait habituellement votre enfant. Durant l’évaluation ou après, il se peut qu’un spécialiste vous interroge sur le quotidien de votre enfant, notamment sur le langage, l’apprentissage de la propreté, l’alimentation, le comportement, la motricité, le sommeil et le jeu. 

Y a-t-il quelque chose à faire pour se préparer à une évaluation?

girl playing with a toyLe spécialiste devant effectuer l’évaluation vous mettra au courant si vous devez apporter des objets ou réunir de l’information pour le rendez-vous. Pour certains types d’évaluations, vous pourriez avoir à remplir un questionnaire sur les antécédents familiaux ou médicaux. Voici un aperçu des renseignements qu’on pourrait demander.

  • Vos préoccupations – Les spécialistes peuvent vous demander ce qui vous inquiète le plus dans le développement de votre enfant, quand vous avez remarqué pour la première fois que quelque chose n’allait pas et comment les problèmes ont évolué.
  • Renseignements médicaux – Les renseignements demandés peuvent concerner :
    • les antécédents médicaux de la famille (maladies ou handicaps d’autres membres de la famille immédiate ou élargie);
    • les détails de la grossesse et de l’accouchement (difficultés ou complications de la grossesse et de l’accouchement);
    • les antécédents médicaux de l’enfant (accidents ou maladies).
  • Activités quotidiennes
    • sommeil : les habitudes de sommeil et les troubles du sommeil;
    • alimentation : les habitudes alimentaires et les aliments consommés;
    • jeu : les interactions avec les autres et la façon de jouer avec les jouets.
 
 
  • Communications – Comment votre enfant communique (langage, gestes, etc.) et l’évolution du langage et de la lecture.
  • Motricité – Comprend tous les mouvements, comme ramper, se tenir debout, marcher, prendre des objets et dessiner.
  • Capacités sociales – Les rapports de votre enfant avec les autres.
  • Comportement – La façon dont votre enfant réagit dans différentes situations et exprime ce qu’il ressent.

Il est possible qu’on demande votre consentement pour faire remplir des questionnaires par d’autres professionnels qui ont affaire à votre enfant (que ce soit à la garderie, à la prématernelle ou à l’école). L’information que vous fournissez et que communiquent d’autres personnes qui s’occupent de votre enfant peut aider les spécialistes à se faire une meilleure idée du développement de votre enfant.

boy with stethoscope against a nurse's chest

Que se passe-t-il une fois l’évaluation effectuée?

 

Le spécialiste peut vous rencontrer tout de suite après l’évaluation ou vous donner un rendez-vous une autre journée. Vous pourrez alors vous faire expliquer les résultats et poser des questions. Le spécialiste peut vous recommander ce qui suit :

  • faire des activités de développement à la maison;
  • faire effectuer des évaluations de suivi;
  • utiliser des services utiles;
  • vous mettre en rapport avec des ressources communautaires.

 

Il est parfois difficile de recevoir toute l’information à la fois et de savoir quelles questions poser. C’est pourquoi il peut être utile de faire une liste de questions avant le rendez-vous et de noter les réponses du spécialiste durant l’entretien.

Voici quelques questions possibles :

  • L’évaluation a-t-elle permis de poser un diagnostic?
  • Quels sont les résultats de l’évaluation et d’autres évaluations sont-elles prévues?
  • Quels sont les aspects pour lesquels mon enfant a besoin d’aide?
  • Quelles sont les forces de mon enfant?
  • Y a-t-il des activités que je peux faire avec mon enfant pour favoriser son développement?
  • Est-il possible de recommander des services ou des programmes pour mon enfant?
  • Quelles sont les ressources recommandées (livres, sites Web, revues, vidéos)?
 Vous pouvez demander à un autre membre de la famille ou à un ami de vous accompagner au rendez-vous pour vous aider à noter l’information donnée par le spécialiste.

 

 

 

return to top

Puis-je obtenir une copie de l’évaluation?

doctor showing notes to woman and boy

 

En ayant une copie de l’évaluation ou du sommaire des résultats, les familles seront en mesure de prendre des décisions éclairées en se basant sur tous les renseignements à leur disposition.

 

 

Si je viens d’arriver au Manitoba, une évaluation d’une autre province ou d’un autre pays sera-t-elle reconnue ou mon enfant devra-t-il être réévalué?

On examinera les documents de votre enfant afin de déterminer si une nouvelle évaluation est nécessaire. On se basera sur plusieurs facteurs : quand l’évaluation a été faite, si les outils d’évaluation étaient les mêmes ou non et si l’évaluation répond à toutes les questions concernant le développement de votre enfant. Tous ces facteurs seront pris en compte pour décider si une réévaluation est nécessaire. 

doctor holding a boy and teddy bear

Le médecin ou spécialiste m’aidera-t-il à obtenir les services dont j’ai besoin pour mon enfant?

Si l’évaluation révèle que des services pourraient être utiles à votre enfant, le médecin ou spécialiste fera les recommandations et renvois nécessaires, avec votre consentement écrit. Il pourra vous mettre en rapport avec les ressources et services en question.

 
Sachez qu’il est possible qu’il y ait une liste d’attente pour des services et que l’accès peut être restreint, selon l’endroit où vous vivez. En effet, les services spécialisés ne sont pas tous offerts dans toutes les régions de la province, et vous pourriez avoir à vous déplacer pour en recevoir.

Le médecin ou spécialiste communiquerat-il les résultats de l’évaluation aux fournisseurs de services ou organisations?boy playing with a toy

Le médecin n’est pas autorisé à transmettre des renseignements sans votre consentement écrit. Il existe cependant certaines exceptions. Par exemple, un spécialiste peut transmettre de l’information résultant d’une évaluation à un professionnel qui traite déjà votre enfant, comme votre médecin de famille. Si vous demandez au spécialiste de ne pas révéler des renseignements sur votre enfant à un autre professionnel et qu’il est convaincu que la santé de votre enfant n’en souffrira pas, il ne peut pas communiquer l’information.

 
Pour en savoir plus long au sujet de la Loi sur les renseignements médicaux personnels, consultez le site Web suivant :

 

Les professionnels qui fournissent des services à votre enfant peuvent mettre au point des programmes plus efficaces s’ils ont accès à toute l’information. Ne manquez pas de leur fournir l’ensemble des évaluations et rapports.
 

Mon enfant rattrapera-t-il son retard par rapport aux autres enfants?

Le développement varie d’un enfant à l’autre et nombreux sont les facteurs qui déterminent comment un enfant se développe et à quel rythme. Une intervention précoce permet dans certains cas d’aider l’enfant à parvenir au même stade de développement que les autres enfants de son âge ou de s’en rapprocher considérablement.
 
Elle peut aussi permettre aux professionnels de savoir sur quels aspects ils doivent se concentrer dans l’immédiat et dans l’avenir.

 

Comment puis-je trouver un médecin de famille?four children smiling at the camera

La ligne téléphonique d’orientation vers les médecins de famille de Santé Manitoba peut vous fournir une liste de médecins de votre localité qui acceptent de nouveaux patients.

 
Pour trouver un médecin dans votre région, composez le :
À Winnipeg :204 786-7111
Numéro sans frais : 1-866-690-8260
ATS :204 774-8618
Service de relais du Manitoba : 1 800 855-0511
 
Pour en savoir plus long sur les services de santé au Manitoba et la façon d’y accéder, consultez le Guide infosanté en ligne de Santé Manitoba, au :

return to top

Share This

A Young Child's Assessment and Diagnosis

girl sitting on the floor playing with toys

Printable PDF version

As a parent watching your young child grow, questions may come up about whether your child's development is typical of children the same age. You may wonder about:

  • signs that indicate a developmental delay or disability
  • what you can do if you have a concern
  • what will happen after a diagnosis

This section will guide you through this process.


How do I know if my child is developing typically?baby walking holding someone's hand for support

The skills that children gain at various stages are called developmental milestones. Milestones occur at various times and within the following areas: social, emotional, language, movement and intellectual. A child may have a developmental delay if skills are not reached within the same time range as other children of the same age. The following websites contain milestones from birth to school age:

What should I do if I'm concerned about my child's development?

Your concerns may come from your own observations or from others (such as family members, friends or staff at the childcare centre or school). If your child has not developed the skills described in the developmental milestones, see your child's doctor. Before the appointment, write a list of the specific skills your child has and has not reached. Preparation can go a long way to making sure that your child's doctor has essential information. The developmental milestones list can help gather and communicate information for the appointment.

How can I work with the doctor to make sure that all important information is shared?

There are a number of things you can do to ensure you child's doctor receives important information.

  • Prepare for the appointment – Developmental milestones are recognized across Canada as the standard measure for a child's development. By preparing for the appointment and presenting the doctor with specific milestones your child has and has not reached, you will be able to show why an assessment would be important. It is helpful to take a written list of your concerns and the questions you have for your doctor.
  • doctor holding a stethoscopy on a boy's chestTell your doctor about your concerns at the beginning of the appointment – If you list all of your observations and concerns about your child's development at the beginning of the appointment, your doctor can decide which items are a priority, include your concerns in the assessment and make sure that there is enough time to ask you questions.

Develop a good partnership – You can work together with your doctor and develop a good partnership if you:

  • Share information – Share all relevant information about your child with your doctor. An assessment can be more complete if you tell the doctor about your child's development, daily activities, symptoms and behaviours.
  • Listen actively – Give your full attention to the questions that your doctor is asking and the information that he or she is providing. Keep distractions to a minimum during the appointment, such as cell phones and texting devices. It may be helpful to bring a friend or family member to the appointment. This person can write down important information for you or help care for your child during the appointment.
  • Ask for clarification – If you do not understand the questions your doctor is asking or the information being given, ask him or her to explain it more clearly for you. If you are unsure about anything the doctor explains, such as a diagnosis, treatment options, activities for home, and referrals, ask questions or let your doctor know that you are not understanding the information.
  • Write down important information – It can be difficult to receive a lot of information at once. Taking notes during the meeting can help you identify any information you are missing and remember the information at a later time. You may bring someone with you to take notes for you.
  • Ask about next steps – If your doctor has not mentioned anything about follow-up appointments, referrals to specialists, treatment options or other assessments, be sure to ask.

return to top

What will happen once the doctor has seen my child?

woman and girl playing with letters on the floorBased on your information and the examination, your family doctor, pediatrician or nurse practioner may make a referral for an assessment to a health professional, such as:

  • pediatrician or other health professional
  • physiotherapist, occupational therapist, speech language pathologist or audiologist
  • child/adolescent mental health
  • the Child Development Clinic
  • other specialists, clinics, or resources

If an assessment shows that your child has a developmental delay, it is important to begin early intervention services. Since human learning is most rapid in early years, it is a good time to introduce developmental activities for children. If you check with your family doctor or pediatrician about concerns you have with your child's development, intervention services can begin early.

I've talked to my child's doctor, but I still have concerns. What should I do?

woman on the phone smiling

If you still have concerns, your family can consider the following options:

  • Get a second opinion – If you have not received a referral for further assessment and believe that your child may have a developmental delay, you can get a second opinion from another physician or nurse practioner.
  • Talk with a professional who is already involved with your child – If your child is involved with another professional (for example a physiotherapist, occupational therapist or speech-language pathologist), you can let them know about your concerns. They can share their assessment with your child's doctor, pediatrician or nurse practioner, who may refer you to the Child Development Clinic.
  • Connect with other professionals - If there is no other professional involved with your child, you can contact the Children’s Therapy Initiative directly to have your child seen by a physical therapist,
    occupational therapist, speech language pathologist and/or audiologist.

The Child Development Clinic

The Child Development Clinic (CDC) provides assessment and referral support for preschool aged children who may have developmental concerns. When families visit CDC, they may see one or several staff who specialize in child development – a developmental pediatrician, social worker, clinical psychologist, or other early childhood developmental specialist and/or therapists.

The CDC is located in Winnipeg’s Children’s Hospital at the Health Sciences Centre. For more information, contact the CDC at:

Child Development Clinic
CK253-840 Sherbrook Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3A 1S1
Phone: 204-787-2423 or 204-787-4379

The CDC is a provincial service. Rural clinics are offered in designated areas of the province on a regular basis.

What is a developmental assessment?

A developmental assessment is an evaluation of a child’s development in various areas – motor, language, cognitive, social and emotional. It can inform specialists about the types of treatments, community resources and/or services that will support children in their ongoing development. Depending on the child and family’s needs, there may be one or more specialists involved in an assessment, including:

boy playing with toys with a woman smiling at him
  • developmental pediatricians
  • clinical psychologists
  • social worker
  • therapists (physiotherapists, occupational therapists)
  • others (such as child care facilities)

The specialist may give your child specific tasks to learn more about his or her strengths and weaknesses. Depending on their age and developmental concerns, activities may include
block building, puzzles, language tasks and some physical
activities and observation of your child at play.

return to top

As a parent, what is my role in the assessment process?

Your main role is to provide information. Since you know your child best, the information that you share is an important part of a thorough assessment.  By observing your child’s participation in the assessment activities, you can tell the specialists if what they are seeing is typical of your child. During the appointment, the specialist may ask about your child’s everyday activities, such as speaking, toileting, eating, behaviour, motor skills, sleeping and play.

Do I need to prepare for an assessment?

girl playing with a toyThe specialist performing the assessment will inform you of any items or information to bring to the appointment. For some assessments, you may be asked to complete a questionnaire on family and medical history. The type of information that you may be asked about includes:

  • Your Concerns – The specialists may ask about your main concerns about your child's development, when you first noticed any problems and how any problems have progressed
  • Medical Information – This includes information about:
    • family medical history (illnesses or disabilities that relatives may have)
    • pregnancy and delivery (difficulties or complications with pregnancy and delivery)
    • your child's health history (accidents or illnesses)
  • Daily Living Activities
    • sleeping – includes sleep patterns and problems
    • eating – includes eating patterns and what your child eats
    • play – how your child interacts with other children and plays with toys
  • Communication – how your child communicates (ex. talking, gestures), how his or her talking and reading are progressing
  • Physical Movement – includes movements such as crawling, standing up, walking, picking up objects, drawing
  • Social Skills – how your child relates to others
  • Behaviour – how your child responds in different situations and expresses his or her feelings

With your consent, other professionals who work with your child (such as from childcare centres, preschools and schools) may also be asked to respond to questionnaires. Having information from you and others who work with your child can provide the specialists with a more complete picture of your child's development.

boy with stethoscope against a nurse's chest

What happens once the assessment is completed?

The specialist may meet with you immediately after the appointment or schedule an appointment for a later date. At this time, you will have an opportunity to have the results explained and ask questions. The specialist may provide recommendations for:

  • chid development activities you can do at home
  • follow-up assessments
  • helpful services
  • connections with community resources

It is sometimes difficult to receive all of the information at once and know what to ask. You may find it helpful to prepare a list of questions before the meeting and write down the specialist's answers during the meeting.

Possible things to ask about include:

  • Did the assessment provide a diagnosis for my child?
  • What type of information did the assessment provide and if further assessment is required?
  • What are areas that my child needs help with?
  • What are my child's areas of strength?
  • Are there activities that I can do with my child to promote development?
  • Can you recommend or refer my child for any services or programs?
  • Can you recommend any resources (books, websites, magazines, videos)?

return to top

Can I get a copy of the assessment?

doctor showing notes to woman and boy

You may receive a copy of the assessment or summary of the results. If you do not receive one, ask the doctor or professional who conducted the assessment for a copy of the report.

It is helpful to keep all assessment information and reports filed or in a binder. Agencies may require that you provide this information before services for your child can begin.

To learn more about access to your health information, visit the following website on access to information in Manitoba:

If I am new to Manitoba, will an assessment from out of province or country be recognized or will my child need to be reassessed?

Your child's records will be reviewed to see if further assessments are needed. When reviewing assessments from other provinces or countries, the specialists will consider several factors, such as how long ago the assessment was completed, whether the assessment tools are the same and whether it answers all of the questions they have about your child's development. All of the factors will be considered when deciding if a reassessment is necessary.

doctor holding a boy and teddy bear

Does the doctor or specialist help me get the services I need for my child?

If the assessment has shown that your child could benefit from services, the doctor or specialist will make recommendations and referrals with your written consent. The specialist can connect you with resources and services that will help your child.

There may be a waiting time to receive some services. Where you live may limit the services that are available. Some specialized services may not be available in all regions of the province and you may need to travel to access some services.

Will the doctor or specialist share the assessment with
service providers or other agencies?boy playing with a toy

The doctor will not share any information unless you give your written consent. However, there are some exceptions. For example, a specialist may forward information gathered from an assessment to a professional who is already providing health care to your child, such as your family doctor. If you ask the specialist not to disclose any of your child's information to another professional, and the specialist is certain that your child's health will not be affected, the specialist must not disclose the information.

For more information on The Manitoba's Personal Health Information Act, please visit the following website: https://www.gov.mb.ca/health/phia/

Will my child catch-up to his/her peers?

Each child's development is unique and there are many factors that contribute to how and when development happens. Early intervention can sometimes help your child meet or come close to the developmental milestones for his or her age group. It may also identify key areas for his or her team to concentrate on present and future programming.

 

How can I find a family doctor?four children smiling at the camera

The Family Doctor Connection line through Manitoba Health provides a listing of doctors in their community who are accepting new patients.

To find a doctor in your area, call:
Winnipeg: 204-786-7111
Toll free: 1-866-690-8260
TTY/TDD: 204-774-8618
Manitoba Relay Service 1-800-855-0511

For more information on health services in Manitoba and how to access these services, visit Manitoba Health's InfoHealth Guide online: http://ww.gov.mb.ca/health/guide/4.html

return to top