Consultez ce blogue pour voir les articles courants concernant les documents des Archives du Manitoba datant de l’époque de la Première Guerre mondiale. Visitez les Archives du Manitoba pour voir les documents en personne.

Juin 2018 :

Le 18 juin 2018

« Canukeenas let us holler » : le Canukeena Club de Winnipeg

De nombreux liens se sont rompus à cause de la Première Guerre mondiale : des familles ont été éclatées, des amis se sont perdus de vue et des êtres chers ne sont jamais rentrés chez eux. Cependant, tout au long de la guerre, des liens d’amitié se sont tissés entre les soldats, et ces liens ont perduré une fois la paix revenue. À Winnipeg, un groupe d’anciens soldats a voulu maintenir ces relations après la guerre.

Le 13 août 1919, 20 anciens combattants ont créé le Canukeena Club de Winnipeg pour aider les anciens soldats à réintégrer la société, renouer d’anciennes amitiés et conserver l’esprit de camaraderie présent dans l’armée. Le nom Canukeena était une combinaison des mots « canuk » (un terme familier en anglais pour désigner les Canadiens) et le mot anglais « keen ». Quand on réunit les deux termes, Canukeena signifie les Canadiens (canuks) qui ont à cœur (keen) de contribuer à l’amélioration du Canada.

CANUKEENA HOLLER<br>
Canukeenas let us holler<br> Into music let us waller,<br> If the words you cannot foller,<br> Holler - just the same.<br> Loose your belts and let us bellow<br> Louder than the other fellow<br> Let's pretend we're sweet and mellow<br> Ain't it simply grand.<br> Tear the root asunder<br> Never mind a blunder<br> Those placid guys<br> With sleepy eyes<br> Will surely sit up now and start to wonder.<br> Shout for joy you Canukeenas<br> Look at the guy who madly leads us,<br> We're proud of the land that breeds us,<br> LET US TELL THE WORLD.
Archives of Manitoba, Canukeena Club of Winnipeg fonds, Initiation Ceremony, “Canukeena Holler,” P6852/8.

Le club a accueilli des événements sociaux et a organisé des activités de services communautaires. Les initiatives de service public ont compris l’ameublement de salles à l’hôpital Grace de l’Armée du Salut et à l’hôpital d’anciens combattants Deer Lodge. En 1929, le club a créé un comité d’aide sociale, afin de travailler avec les familles d’anciens soldats et de fournir de l’aide financière pour les enfants ayant perdu leur père durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Parmi les autres activités organisées, citons le concert Canukeena, des manifestations sportives et des conférences.

Des succursales du club ont finalement été établies dans tout le Canada, y compris à Calgary, à Toronto et à Ottawa. Le Canukeena Club de Winnipeg a mis fin à ses activités dans les années 1990.

Conseil de recherche : Recherchez « Canukeena Club » dans la base de données Keystone pour consulter ces documents.

Commentaires

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 7 juin 2018

Service d’affrètement de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson

Durant la guerre, les activités de transport maritime de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson pour les gouvernements français, russe et belge étaient gérées par différents services, depuis le bureau de Threadneedle House de HBC à Londres. HBC utilisait un grand nombre de ses navires pour ces activités, mais elle avait aussi recours à des bateaux loués afin de faire face à la demande en matière de transport. Le service d’affrètement a été créé vers 1914 pour gérer les affrètements à temps ou au voyage de HBC.

Un contrat d’affrètement au voyage permet de louer un bateau et son équipage pour un voyage particulier, alors qu’un contrat d’affrètement à temps ne concerne que l’utilisation de l’espace de chargement d’un bateau. Le service d’affrètement était aussi responsable du traitement des demandes d’indemnité concernant les navires affrétés ayant été endommagés alors qu’ils étaient utilisés par HBC.

Parmi les documents créés par le service d’affrètement, se trouvent six volumes de plans de bateaux à l’échelle. Ces plans comprennent des statistiques sur les dimensions, les contenances, la capacité des ballasts, des soutes et de chargement, et les balances de chargement, ainsi que des précisions sur la coque et la machinerie.

un livre “Hudson’s Bay Company - Time Chartered Steamer Plans No 2”
de plan de bateaux &agrave; l&rsquo;&eacute;chelle. &ldquo;General Arrangement S. S. Don Diego. Owned by the Buenos Ayres & Pacific Railway Co. Ld., Mr. George Dodd, Ships' Husband. Scale 1/16 to 1 foot.&rdquo;
l'image dans sa taille
Hudson’s Bay Company Archives, Archives of Manitoba, Chartering Department records, Time chartered steamer plans, no. 2, ca. 1914-1918, HBCA RG22/8/3/2.

Le plan qui figure ci-dessus est celui du S.S. Don Diego, qui appartenait à la Buenos Ayres & Pacific Railway Co. Ltd. Il se trouve dans un volume de plans de navires à vapeur affrétés à temps.

Conseil de recherche : « Chartering Department records » dans la base de données Keystone pour plus de renseignements sur les documents créés par le service d’affrètement.

Commentaires

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Le 4 juin 2018

Établir de nouveaux liens : photographie du personnel du service aérien provincial

En faisant des recherches pour ce blogue et pour les expositions et les événements relatifs à notre commémoration du centenaire de la Première Guerre mondiale, nous avons trouvé de nombreuses connexions intéressantes et surprenantes dans les documents conservés aux Archives du Manitoba.

Dans nos billets de blogue du 1er mai 2017 et du 24 juillet 2017, nous avons parlé de deux soldats (Frank Leathers et Herb Francis), dont les lettres se trouvent aux Archives mais de qui nous n’avions aucune photo (du moins, c’est ce que l’on pensait). C’est avec grand plaisir que nous avons découvert des photographies de ces hommes dans d’autres documents.

Un lien similaire a été établi le mois dernier quand un archiviste qui travaillait sur des documents a trouvé une grande photographie sur support du personnel du service aérien provincial, connu plus tard sous le nom de Service aérien du gouvernement du Manitoba. Un collègue s’est tout de suite souvenu que J. C. Uhlman, un pilote durant la Première Guerre mondiale dont le journal a récemment été donné aux Archives du Manitoba (voir le billet de blogue du 8 janvier 2018), était l’un des premiers pilotes du service aérien provincial, et voilà qu’il se trouvait sur la photo (tout à fait à gauche)!

Nous étions ravis de trouver cette photo qui le représentait durant sa carrière d’après-guerre, qui avait commencé alors qu’il apprenait à voler durant la guerre.

Photo of four men standing in front of an airplane, with the caption: Manitoba Government Air Service Department of Mines and Natural Resources. Pilots J.C. Uhlman, L.H. Phinney , M.B. Barclay, C.T. Travers & M. Kennedy. Staff of original Provincial Air Service. May 25, 1932.
(2 images)
Archives of Manitoba, “Staff of original Provincial Air Service, May 25, 1932” photograph, D102/1.

Nous ne savons pas qui a donné cette photographie aux Archives (bien qu’une reproduction en noir et blanc ait été faite en 1971 à partir d’une photo qui appartenait à H. P. Smith de Lac-du-Bonnet), ou si elle était jointe à un autre document. Elle a donc été ajoutée en tant qu’article à notre base de données, Keystone, et l’image numérisée est offerte en ligne.

Conseil de recherche : Dans Keystone, recherchez « Provincial Air Service » pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements. Cherchez « James Uhlman » si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur son journal.

Commentaires

Envoyez vos courriels à l'adresse suivante : archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca. Que pensez-vous de cette blogue article? Vous êtes aussi invités à afficher vos commentaires sur cette page.

haut de page

Visit this blog for regular posts about records at the Archives of Manitoba that date from the time of the First World War. Visit the Archives of Manitoba to see the records in person.

June 2018 Posts:

18 June 2018

“Canukeenas let us holler”: The Canukeena Club of Winnipeg

The First World War severed many relationships as families were torn apart, friends were lost, and loved ones never returned home. Throughout the war, however, soldiers formed bonds of friendship that carried over into peacetime. In Winnipeg, a group of ex-soldiers wanted to maintain these connections after the war.

On August 13, 1919, 20 veterans established the Canukeena Club of Winnipeg to assist former soldiers in reintegrating back into society, rebuild old friendships, and to maintain the sense of camaraderie that existed in the military. The name Canukeena was a combination of the words “canuk” (a slang term for Canadians) and “keen.” Put together, Canukeena means Canadians (i.e. canuks) who are keen in assisting in the betterment of Canada.

CANUKEENA HOLLER<br>
Canukeenas let us holler<br> Into music let us waller,<br> If the words you cannot foller,<br> Holler - just the same.<br> Loose your belts and let us bellow<br> Louder than the other fellow<br> Let's pretend we're sweet and mellow<br> Ain't it simply grand.<br> Tear the root asunder<br> Never mind a blunder<br> Those placid guys<br> With sleepy eyes<br> Will surely sit up now and start to wonder.<br> Shout for joy you Canukeenas<br> Look at the guy who madly leads us,<br> We're proud of the land that breeds us,<br> LET US TELL THE WORLD.
Archives of Manitoba, Canukeena Club of Winnipeg fonds, Initiation Ceremony, “Canukeena Holler,” P6852/8.

The club hosted social functions and conducted community service activities. Public service initiatives included furnishing wards in the Salvation Army’s Grace Hospital and Deer Lodge Veteran’s Hospital. In 1929, the club established the welfare committee to work with families of ex-soldiers and provide financial assistance for children who lost their fathers in the First World War. Other activities included the Canukeena Concert Party, sporting events, and inviting guest speakers.

Other branches of the club were eventually established throughout Canada, including ones in Calgary, Toronto, and Ottawa. The Canukeena Club of Winnipeg ceased its operations by the 1990s.

Search Tip: In Keystone, search “Canukeena Club” to find these records.

Feedback

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

7 June 2018

Hudson's Bay Company's Chartering Department

The Hudson’s Bay Company’s (HBC) wartime shipping operations for the French, Russian and Belgian governments were managed by various departments, which all operated out of HBC’s Threadneedle House office in London. While HBC used many of its own ships for this business, it also relied on ships leased from other owners to help keep up with shipping demands. The Chartering Department was established around 1914 to manage voyage and time charters for HBC.

A voyage charter is a contract to hire a ship and its crew for a particular voyage, while a time charter is a contract for the use of only the cargo space of a ship. The Chartering Department was also responsible for settling insurance claims for chartered ships that had sustained damage while in use by HBC.

Among the records created by the Chartering Department are six volumes of scale drawing plans of ships. These plans include statistics on the dimensions, hold capacities, water ballast capacities, bunker capacities, cargo capacities, loading scales, and particulars on hull and machinery.

cover of book with title “Hudson’s Bay Company - Time Chartered Steamer Plans No 2”
a chartered steamer plan with an scaled illustration of the layout of the ship. &ldquo;General Arrangement S. S. Don Diego. Owned by the Buenos Ayres & Pacific Railway Co. Ld., Mr. George Dodd, Ships' Husband. Scale 1/16 to 1 foot.&rdquo;
full size
Hudson’s Bay Company Archives, Archives of Manitoba, Chartering Department records, Time chartered steamer plans, no. 2, ca. 1914-1918, HBCA RG22/8/3/2.

The plan shown above is for the S.S. Don Diego, owned by HBC the Buenos Ayres & Pacific Railway Co. Ltd. It is found in a volume of time chartered steamer plans.

Search Tip: Search “Chartering Department records” in Keystone for more information about records created by the Chartering Department.

Feedback

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top

4 June 2018

Making more connections: “Staff of original Provincial Air Service” photograph

While researching for this blog and for displays and events related to our commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the First World War, we found many interesting and unexpected connections between records held at the Archives of Manitoba.

In the 1 May 2017 and 24 July 2017 blogs , we wrote about two soldiers – Frank Leathers and Herb Francis – whose letters are held at the Archives but for whom we didn’t have (or didn’t think we had) photographs. When we found photographs of the men in other records, we were very excited!

A similar connection was made last month when an archivist was working on some records and came across a large mounted photograph of the staff of the original Provincial Air Service, later known as the Manitoba Government Air Service (MGAS). A colleague quickly recalled that J. C. Uhlman, a pilot during the First World War whose diary was recently donated to the Archives of Manitoba (see the 8 January 2018 blog post), was one of the original pilots in the provincial air service and there he was in the photograph (far left)!

We were thrilled to see this photograph of him in his post-First World War career, which all began when he learned to fly during the war.

Photo of four men standing in front of an airplane, with the caption: Manitoba Government Air Service Department of Mines and Natural Resources. Pilots J.C. Uhlman, L.H. Phinney , M.B. Barclay, C.T. Travers & M. Kennedy. Staff of original Provincial Air Service. May 25, 1932.
(2 images)
Archives of Manitoba, “Staff of original Provincial Air Service, May 25, 1932” photograph, D102/1.

We do not know who donated this photograph to the Archives (although a black and white copy was made from a photograph in the possession of H. P. Smith of Lac du Bonnet in 1971), or whether it came in with anything else, so the photograph has been described as an item in our Keystone database and the digitized image is linked online.

Search Tip: Search “Provincial Air Service” in Keystone for more information.  Search James Uhlman to find out more about his diary.

Feedback

E-mail us at archiveswebmaster@gov.mb.ca with a comment about this blog post. Your comments may be included on this page.

back to top