Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson – Au sujet des Archives

Histoire des Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson

À partir de sa fondation par l’entremise d’une Charte royale en 1670 et pendant toute son histoire, la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson (HBC) a soigneusement tenu des dossiers détaillés sur ses activités, sa croissance et son expansion. Nombre de ces documents ont survécu et ils constituent un bassin d’information d’une grande importance. Dans les années 1920, le siège social de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson à Londres, en Angleterre, a commencé à classer et à décrire ses documents afin de les rendre plus accessibles aux membres de HBC et aux chercheurs. En 1970, le siège social de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson s’est installé au Canada. En 1974, la compagnie a prêté ses documents aux Archives du Manitoba et vingt ans plus tard, le 27 janvier 1994, ces documents ont été donnés officiellement à la Province.

La chambre forte des  Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson à Londres
La chambre forte des Archives
de la Compagnie de la Baie
d’Hudson à Londres
L’une des chambres fortes actuelles des Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson à Winnipeg
L’une des chambres fortes
actuelles des Archives de la
Compagnie de la Baie
d’Hudson à Winnipeg

haut de page


Fonds et collections des Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson

Les fonds et collections des Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson sont constitués de documents de toutes sortes, notamment des documents textuels, des images fixes (photographies et objets d’art documentaire), des documents cartographiques (cartes, plans et graphiques), des dessins architecturaux et des images en mouvement et enregistrements sonores (films, vidéos et enregistrements audio). De plus, la bibliothèque des Archives contient une vaste collection d’ouvrages publiés qui portent sur la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson (HBC) ou qui ont été rédigés en fonction de recherches dans les Archives.

Documents textuels

Les Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson sont remarquables quant à leur ampleur et leur continuité. Les documents textuels de la collection ont été créés par des décideurs dans des villes comme Londres ou Montréal, des commis et des comptables à des postes de traite des fourrures éloignés, des capitaines de navire, des explorateurs, et bien d’autres encore. Ils occupent plus de 1 500 mètres linéaires d’espace sur les étagères des chambres fortes des Archives. Le document le plus ancien de HBC est un recueil de procès-verbaux datant de 1671, dans lequel sont enregistrées les décisions prises au cours des réunions du gouverneur et du comité de HBC. Tous les recueils des procès-verbaux de 1671 à 1970 se trouvent aux Archives, à l’exception de ceux d’une période de quatre ans.

En plus des documents de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, la collection de documents privés des Archives comprend des journaux, des lettres et des notes de recherche. Les documents privés sont un excellent supplément aux documents officiels de HBC où sont consignées, par exemple, les expériences personnelles vécues au sein de la compagnie et à ses divers postes.

Images fixes

Les collections de photographies des Archives comprennent approximativement 130 000 images, dont un certain nombre de collections individuelles extraordinaires provenant de photographes professionnels et amateurs. Les photographies datent des années 1860 aux années 1980, la plupart étant postérieures à 1900.

La plus importante collection, comprenant plus de 55 000 images, est la collection de photographies de la bibliothèque de la Hudson's Bay House. Elle a été créée et conservée principalement pour être utilisée dans le magazine The Beaver, qui était à l’origine une publication de la société, ainsi que pour diverses autres activités promotionnelles. La collection a été transférée aux Archives en 1987 et représente un témoignage visuel des affaires de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson : ses employés, les personnalités qui lui ont été associées, ses établissements de traite des fourrures et de vente au détail et ses activités, ainsi que les peuples autochtones et leur culture.

Les objets d’art documentaire des Archives sont une petite collection de dessins, de peintures, d’art publicitaire et de calendriers. Certains documents ont été commandés par la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson ou créés par des employés. La collection comprend aussi des objets achetés pour être exposés ou en tant que documents de référence pour la bibliothèque de la Hudson's Bay House. Ces ouvrages portent principalement sur les activités de HBC et mettent l’accent sur les employés, les postes, les navires et les événements.

Documents cartographiques et dessins architecturaux

Les Archives renferment la plus vaste collection de cartes de la traite des fourrures en Amérique du Nord. Elle comprend plus de 12 000 cartes, graphiques, plans et dessins architecturaux datés de 1563 à environ 1982.

Les cartes manuscrites ont été presque exclusivement établies par des employés de la Compagnie, dont un grand nombre sont bien connus dans l’histoire canadienne : Samuel Hearne, Philip Turnor, Peter Fidler, David Thompson et Joseph Pemberton. Un certain nombre d’Autochtones ont dessiné des cartes ou ont fourni des renseignements à des employés de la Compagnie, en particulier à Peter Fidler. L’une des plus importantes est une carte de 1801 qui s’intitule The Different Tribes that inhabit on the East & West side of the Rocky Mountains, d’Ac ko mok ki, un chef Blackfoot.

Les documents cartographiques publiés des Archives comprennent plus de 50 cartes de la firme de renom international Arrowsmith, à Londres, qui sont basées sur des renseignements reçus d’employés de HBC, ainsi que la carte de R. Seales, Map of North America with Hudson’s Bay and Straights, Anno 1748. HBC a fait don de la seule autre copie connue de cette carte au British Museum. Un certain nombre d’atlas mondiaux, remontant aussi loin que 1733, font aussi partie de la collection.

Les dessins architecturaux comprennent des fortifications de forts des environs de la baie d’Hudson au 18e siècle, des grands magasins du 20e siècle, des plans de navires et quelques pièces inattendues comme le terrain de golf Prince Rupert à Edmonton, que HBC a exploité au cours des années 1930. La majorité des dessins sont des plans et un grand nombre sont sous forme de manuscrits et d’épreuves ozalids. Ils comprennent des ouvrages de certaines des agences d’architecture canadiennes les plus reconnues, comme Burke, Horwood & White, et Moody and Moore. Des agences de décoration intérieure, comme Taussig & Flesch, y sont aussi représentées, ainsi que des entreprises de construction navale d’Angleterre, d’Écosse et d’Amérique du Nord.

Images en mouvement et enregistrements sonores

Les Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson comprennent plus de 140 films et enregistrements vidéo et plus de 500 enregistrements sonores. Les enregistrements sur film comprennent des productions promotionnelles réalisées par HBC, ainsi que des métrages non montés filmés par des employés à divers endroits dans les années 1930, qui montrent des postes et des navires de HBC, ainsi que des résidents, des paysages et des espèces sauvages du Nord.

Les fonds et collections comprennent notamment une rare collection de films silencieux qui présentent des communautés inuites et autochtones du Nord, ainsi que des activités de HBC dans le Nord canadien entre 1919 et 1939. Certains des enregistrements les plus remarquables ont fait partie d’un film silencieux de deux heures, Romance of the Far Fur Country, commandé par la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson en 1920 pour célébrer son 250e anniversaire. Ces films ont été préservés par le British Film Institute, à Londres, de 1956 jusqu’à 2011, lorsqu’ils ont été retournés au Canada pour joindre le reste des archives après plus de cinquante ans de séparation.

Les enregistrements sonores comprennent des collections d’histoire orale et des messages publicitaires et événements de HBC diffusés à la radio. Bon nombre des enregistrements d’histoire orale sont des entrevues avec des employés de HBC à la retraite, et portent surtout sur les activités de la Compagnie au 20e siècle et sur les expériences personnelles de ces employés.

haut de page


Classement et description des documents dans les Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson

Classement des documents d’entreprise de HBC : le système axé sur les séries

À partir du début des années 2000, les Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson ont adopté un système de classement et de description axé sur les séries fondé en même temps sur le système australien axé sur les séries et sur la méthode canadienne créée par les Archives de l’Ontario. Le système est appliqué à une base de données descriptives appelée Keystone et a exigé la redescription de nombre des document des Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. L’un des aspects importants du système axé sur les séries est qu’il permet de noter comment les documents ont été créés, par qui, dans quel contexte et pour quelle raison, parce que les renseignements portant sur les documents sont séparés des renseignements portant sur le créateur de ces documents. En conséquence, le système axé sur les séries est plus à même de montrer la complexité de l'histoire administrative, des relations organisationnelles et des processus de création de documents au sein de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson.

Pour les créateurs de documents à chaque niveau de la hiérarchie de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson (poste, district et département), des notices d’autorité sont créées afin d’expliquer l’histoire, les dates d’existence et la fonction de chaque entité. Ces notices d’autorité sont aussi reliées aux entités précédentes et suivantes, de même qu’aux organismes de contrôle et aux organismes subordonnées. Il est donc possible de comprendre où se situe une entité ayant créé un document particulier au sein de la structure organisationnelle de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et de voir comment cette structure a évolué au fil du temps. Il s’agit là d’un élément essentiel pour comprendre comment fonctionnait la compagnie et comment les documents étaient créés.

Les documents créés par chaque entité sont décrits par « series »; ces séries étant des documents qui découlent d’une activité ou d’une fonction commune ou se présentent sous une forme semblable. Les descriptions des séries sont reliées aux descriptions des créateurs de documents de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et contiennent des détails tels la quantité, les supports et les dates de création, ainsi que des renseignements sur la « portée et la teneur » des documents et notamment la raison et l’intention qui justifient leur création, de même que leur contenu. Au sein de chaque série, chaque document est décrit individuellement et les codes d’emplacement et numéros de microfilms sont indiqués.

Classement des documents privés – système de fonds ou de collection

Les documents privés (qui ne sont pas des documents organisationnels) qui font partie des Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson sont appelés des « fonds » ou des « collections ». Le mot « fonds » sert à désigner tous les documents créés ou acquis par un créateur particulier. Le mot « collection » décrit les documents qui ont été rassemblés sciemment en fonction de certains critères (le sujet, l’âge, l’intérêt géographique, etc.). Tout comme dans le cas des documents d’entreprise, les renseignements sur les créateurs de documents et les renseignements sur les documents mêmes sont conservés séparément et reliés les uns aux autres.

Anciens schémas de classification

Au cours des années 1920–1930, un schéma de classification avait été mis sur pied pour les documents qui composaient les Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson à Londres. Ces documents étaient organisés par sections, catégories, types et pièces, représentés sous forme de numéros de référence alphanumériques.

Dans les années 1980, nombre de documents du 20e siècle ont été organisés par catégories de fonds d’archives (RG). Ces catégories avaient été créées pour classer les documents du 20e siècle, mais n’ont finalement pas toutes été utilisées.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le schéma original de classification et les catégories de fonds d’archives, veuillez consulter la publication de Deidre Simmon intitulée Keepers of the Record: the History of the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives (McGill-Queen’s University Press: Montreal & Kingston, 2007).

haut de page


Suggestions de lectures sur les Archives de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson

  • Briggs, Elizabeth and Anne Morton. Biographical Resources at the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives, Volumes 1 & 2. Winnipeg: Westgarth, 1996-2003.
  • Craig, Joan. "Three Hundred Years of Records." The Beaver, Autumn 1970, pp. 65-70.
  • Harris, Geraldine Alton. "An Archival Administrative History of the Northern Stores Department, Hudson’s Bay Company, 1959-1987." MA thesis, University of Manitoba, 1994.
  • Leveson Gower, R. H. G. "The Archives of the Hudson’s Bay Company." The Beaver, December 1933, pp. 40-42, 64.
  • Koppel, Tom. "Treasure-trove of History." Canadian Geographic, 111 (5), Oct.-Nov. 1991, pp. 70-76.
  • Martin, Jean. "Canadian Chronicles." Imperial Oil Review, Spring 1998, pp. 22-27.
  • Ross, Alex, and Anne Morton. "The Hudson’s Bay Company and Its Archives." Business Archives, no. 51, 1985, pp. 17-39.
  • Simmons, Deidre. Keepers of the Record: the History of the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives. McGill-Queen’s University Press: Montreal & Kingston, 2007.
  • Simmons, Deidre. "The Archives of the Hudson’s Bay Company," Archivaria, no. 42, Fall 1996, pp. 68-78.
  • Simmons, Deidre. "The Hudson’s Bay Company Archives: The Role of the Hudson’s Bay Record Society". Epilogue Volume II, No. 1, 1996, pp. 1-13.
  • Simmons, Deidre. "Custodians of a Great Inheritance": An Account of the Making of the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives, 1920-1974." MA thesis, University of Manitoba, 1994.
  • Simmons, Deidre. "Annals of the Fur Trade: The Making of the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives." The Beaver, June/July 1994, pp. 4-12.

haut de page

Hudson’s Bay Company Archives – About HBCA

Hudson’s Bay Company Archives History

From its founding by Royal Charter in 1670 and throughout its history, HBC has kept careful and detailed records of its activities, growth and expansion. Many of these records have survived, leaving a legacy of information of great significance. In the 1920s HBC’s head office in London, England, began to arrange and describe its records to make them more accessible for company and scholarly use. In 1970, HBC’s head office was moved to Canada. In 1974 the company put its records on loan with the Archives of Manitoba and twenty years later, on 27 January 1994, the records were officially donated to the Province.

The vault at the HBC Archives in London
The vault at the
HBC Archives in London
An HBCA vault in Winnipeg today
An HBCA vault in
Winnipeg today

back to top


Hudson's Bay Company Archives Holdings

The Hudson’s Bay Company Archives (HBCA) holdings consist of records of all media, including textual records, still images (photographs and documentary art), cartographic records (maps, plans and charts), architectural drawings, and moving images and sound records (film, video and audio recordings). In addition, the HBCA Library holds an extensive collection of published works that are related to Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC) or were written based on research in HBCA.

Textual Records

HBCA is remarkable for both its size and continuity. The corporate textual records in the collection were created by decision makers in cities such as London and Montreal, clerks and accountants at remote fur trade posts, ship's captains and explorers, and many others. They take up more than 1,500 linear metres of shelf space in the HBCA vaults. The earliest HBC record in the archives is a minute book dating from 1671, recording decisions made at the meetings of HBC's Governor and Committee. With the exception of a four-year gap, all the minute books from 1671 to 1970 are in HBCA.

In addition to the records of Hudson's Bay Company, HBCA's collection of private records includes diaries, letters and research notes. Private records provide an excellent complement to the official records of HBC documenting, for instance, personal experiences within HBC and at its various posts.

Still Images

The photographic holdings of Hudson's Bay Company Archives total approximately 130,000 images. Included are a number of outstanding individual collections by both professional and amateur photographers. The photographs range in date from the 1860s to the 1980s; most are post-1900.

The largest collection, with over 55,000 images, is the Hudson's Bay House Library photograph collection. It was created and maintained primarily for the use of The Beaver magazine, which was originally a company publication, as well as for various other promotional activities. The collection was transferred to the Archives in 1987 and provides a visual record of the business of Hudson's Bay Company: its employees, associated personalities, fur trade and retail store establishments, activities, as well as Indigenous peoples and their cultures.

The HBCA documentary art is a small collection of drawings, paintings, advertising art and calendars. Some of the material was commissioned by Hudson’s Bay Company or created by employees. The collection also includes pieces purchased for display purposes or as reference material as part of the Hudson’s Bay House Library. These works primarily document HBC’s operations and activities, with a strong emphasis on employees, posts, ships and events.

Cartographic Records and Architectural Drawings

Hudson's Bay Company Archives has the largest holding of fur trade maps in North America. There are more than 12,000 maps, charts, plans and architectural drawings, dating between the years 1563 and about 1982.

The manuscript maps are almost exclusively by company employees including many well known in Canadian history: Samuel Hearne, Philip Turnor, Peter Fidler, David Thompson and Joseph Pemberton. A number of Indigenous people drew maps or provided information to company employees, in particular Peter Fidler. One of the most significant is a map entitled The Different Tribes that inhabit on the East & West side of the Rocky Mountains by Ac ko mok ki, a Blackfoot chief, dated 1801.

HBCA’s published cartographic holdings include more than fifty maps from the internationally known Arrowsmith firm in London, which were based on information received from HBC employees, and R. Seale's Map of North America with Hudson's Bay and Straights, Anno 1748 (HBC donated the only other known copy of this map to the British Museum). There are also a number of world atlases in the holdings, dating from as early as 1733.

The architectural drawings include 18th century fortifications of the forts around Hudson Bay, 20th century department stores, ships' plans, and some unexpected items such as the Prince Rupert Golf Course in Edmonton, which HBC operated in the 1930s. The majority of the drawings are blueprints and many are in manuscript and whiteprint form. They include the work of some of the most outstanding architectural firms in Canada, for example, Burke, Horwood & White, and Moody and Moore. Also represented are interior design firms such as Taussig & Flesch, and ship building firms in England, Scotland and North America.

Moving Images and Sound Records

Hudson's Bay Company Archives has over 140 motion picture film and videotape recordings and 500 sound recordings in its holdings. Film records include various promotional productions created by HBC as well as raw footage shot by employees in different locations in the 1930s, which provides images of HBC's posts and ships, as well as the people, geography and wildlife of the North.

Most notably, the holdings include a rare collection of silent films that portray northern Inuit and First Nations communities and HBC’s operations across northern Canada from 1919-1939. Some of the most outstanding footage can be found in what was once part of a two hour silent film, Romance of the Far Fur Country, that was commissioned by Hudson’s Bay Company in 1920 to celebrate its 250th anniversary. These films were preserved by the British Film Institute in London, England, from 1956 until 2011, when they were returned to Canada to be reunited with the rest of the archives after more than 50 years of being apart.

Sound recordings include oral history collections and radio broadcasts of HBC events and commercials. Many of the oral history recordings consist of interviews with retired HBC employees and focus on HBC’s 20th century operations and their personal experiences with the company.

back to top


Arrangement and Description of Hudson’s Bay Company Archives

Corporate records arrangement – series system

Beginning in the early 2000s, Hudson’s Bay Company Archives adopted a series system of arrangement and description based on a combination of the Australian series system and the Canadian series approach developed at the Archives of Ontario. The system is built into a descriptive database called Keystone and has required the re-description of many existing Hudson’s Bay Company Archives records. A significant aspect of the series system is that it provides a way to capture how records are created by whom, in what context and for what reason because information about the records is kept separately from information about the creators of records. As a result, the series system more accurately captures the complex administrative histories, organizational relationships and records creation processes of Hudson’s Bay Company.

For record creators at each level of Hudson’s Bay Company’s hierarchy, such as post, district and department, authority records are created which explain the history, dates of existence and function of each entity. Authority records are also linked to predecessor and successor bodies as well as to controlling and subordinate entities. As a result, it is possible to identify where a record-creating entity fits within Hudson’s Bay Company’s corporate structure and to see how that structure evolves over time. This knowledge is essential to understanding how the company operated as well as how records were created.

The records created by each entity are described by “series” – i.e. records which result from a common activity or function or are of a similar form. Descriptions of series are linked to descriptions of record creators within Hudson’s Bay Company and include details such as quantity, media, dates of creation, and information about the ‘scope and content’ including why records were created, for what purpose, and what they contain. Within each series, records are further described at the item-level, where information such as location code and microfilm number is identified.

Non-corporate records arrangement – fonds/collection system

The private records (i.e. non-corporate records) held in Hudson’s Bay Company Archives are described as "fonds" or "collections." The term "fonds" is used to indicate all of the records created or acquired by a particular creator. The term "collection" is used to describe materials gathered purposefully on the basis of some criteria (subject, age, geographic interest, etc.). As with the corporate records, information about record creators and information about the records is kept separately and linked.

Previous classification schemes

During the 1920s–1930s a classification scheme was developed for the records kept by the Hudson's Bay Company Archives in London. Records were organized by section, class, type and piece which were represented as an alpha-numeric document reference number.

In the 1980s, many twentieth century records were organized by record group (RG) categories. These categories were developed to be assigned to 20th century records, but in the end not all of them were used.

For more information about the original classification scheme and the record group categories, consult Deidre Simmon’s publication entitled Keepers of the Record: the History of the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives (McGill-Queen’s University Press: Montreal & Kingston, 2007).

back to top


Suggested reading about the Hudson's Bay Company Archives

  • Briggs, Elizabeth and Anne Morton. Biographical Resources at the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives, Volumes 1 & 2. Winnipeg: Westgarth, 1996-2003.
  • Craig, Joan. "Three Hundred Years of Records." The Beaver, Autumn 1970, pp. 65-70.
  • Harris, Geraldine Alton. "An Archival Administrative History of the Northern Stores Department, Hudson’s Bay Company, 1959-1987." MA thesis, University of Manitoba, 1994.
  • Leveson Gower, R. H. G. "The Archives of the Hudson’s Bay Company." The Beaver, December 1933, pp. 40-42, 64.
  • Koppel, Tom. "Treasure-trove of History." Canadian Geographic, 111 (5), Oct.-Nov. 1991, pp. 70-76.
  • Martin, Jean. "Canadian Chronicles." Imperial Oil Review, Spring 1998, pp. 22-27.
  • Ross, Alex, and Anne Morton. "The Hudson’s Bay Company and Its Archives." Business Archives, no. 51, 1985, pp. 17-39.
  • Simmons, Deidre. Keepers of the Record: the History of the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives. McGill-Queen’s University Press: Montreal & Kingston, 2007.
  • Simmons, Deidre. "The Archives of the Hudson’s Bay Company," Archivaria, no. 42, Fall 1996, pp. 68-78.
  • Simmons, Deidre. "The Hudson’s Bay Company Archives: The Role of the Hudson’s Bay Record Society". Epilogue Volume II, No. 1, 1996, pp. 1-13.
  • Simmons, Deidre. "Custodians of a Great Inheritance": An Account of the Making of the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives, 1920-1974." MA thesis, University of Manitoba, 1994.
  • Simmons, Deidre. "Annals of the Fur Trade: The Making of the Hudson’s Bay Company Archives." The Beaver, June/July 1994, pp. 4-12.

back to top