Veterinary Diagnostic Services Laboratory

These services are available to all Manitoba livestock producers and companion animal owners through their veterinarians, and to universities and colleges, zoos and government departments.
 

Vision and Mission Statements

Our Vision

To nurture a culture that has a commitment to clients, values staff and provides leading-edge veterinary diagnostic services.
 

Our Mission

To protect and advance animal and public health through diagnostic excellence.
 
 
 

Hours of Operation

The laboratory and reception are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Closed statutory holidays.
 

Fees 

Fees are charged based on the Fee Schedule (PDF 140 KB).
 

Payments 

VDS only accepts payment by cheque or money order, made payable to the Minister of Finance.
 

Laboratory Manuals 

Laboratory Manuals are reference materials that provide technical information on the different laboratory tests conducted by VDS.
 

Case Submission Forms

To submit a sample to Veterinary Diagnostic Services, complete a Case Submission Form.
 

VDS Contact Directory

 Click here (PDF 281 KB) to download a copy of the directory.
 
VDS Section Contact Information
General Inquiries  vetlab@gov.mb.ca or 204-945-8220 in Winnipeg
Accounts Payable Inquiries agrinvoices@gov.mb.ca or 204-945-8220 in  Winnipeg
Clinical Pathology Inquiries clinpath@gov.mb.ca
Microbiology Inquiries
(Bacteriology, Mycology, Parasitology) 
microbiology@gov.mb.ca
Virology Inquiries
(PCR/Molecular Diagnostics, Serology) 
virology@gov.mb.ca
Dr. Neil Pople
Manager, Veterinary Microbiologist
Neil.Pople@gov.mb.ca
Dr. Marek Tomczyk
Anatomic Pathologist
Marek.Tomczyk@gov.mb.ca
Dr. Brenda Bryan
Anatomic Pathologist
Brenda.Bryan@gov.mb.ca
Dr. Karlyn Bland
Clinical Pathologist
Karlyn.Bland@gov.mb.ca
 

Contact Us

Veterinary Diagnostic Services
545 University Crescent,
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 5S6
Phone: 204-945-8220 in Winnipeg
Email: vetlab@gov.mb.ca
 

Useful Links

For inquiries regarding wildlife, please contact Conservation and Climate 
TIP Line: 1-800-782-0076 or General Inquiry Line at 1-800-214-6497