Veterinary Diagnostic Services (VDS) Laboratory

These services are available to all Manitoba livestock producers and companion animal owners through their veterinarians, and to universities and colleges, zoos and government departments.




Important Notice 

Updated January 26, 2023

        VDS Holiday Closure 2023 (PDF 571 KB)
        VDS Holiday Closure 2024 (PDF 570 KB)


VDS Newsletter

Stay current on animal health in Manitoba by reading the quarterly VDS newsletter. It includes cases, news and updates from the Animal Health and Welfare branch.

        Issue 1, December 2022 (PDF 965 KB)


Vision and Mission Statements

Our Vision

To nurture a culture that has a commitment to clients, values staff and provides leading-edge veterinary diagnostic services.
 

Our Mission

To protect and advance animal and public health through diagnostic excellence.
 
 
 

Hours of Operation

The laboratory and reception are open Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Closed during statutory holidays.
 

Fees 

Fees are charged based on the Fee Schedule (PDF 237 KB).
 

Payments 

VDS only accepts payment by cheque or money order, made payable to the Minister of Finance.
 

Laboratory Manuals 

Laboratory Manuals are reference materials that provide technical information on the different laboratory tests conducted by VDS.
 

Case Submission Forms

To submit a sample to Veterinary Diagnostic Services, complete a Case Submission Form.
 

VDS Dashboards

The VDS Dashboards contain statistics related to the tests/cases as well as the pathology diagnoses conducted by VDS. 

VDS Contact Directory

 Click here (PDF 577 KB) to download a copy of the directory.
 
VDS Section Contact Information
General Inquiries  vetlab@gov.mb.ca or 204-945-8220 in Winnipeg
Accounts Payable Inquiries agrinvoices@gov.mb.ca or 204-945-8220 in  Winnipeg
Clinical Pathology Inquiries clinpath@gov.mb.ca
Microbiology Inquiries
(Bacteriology, Mycology, Parasitology) 
microbiology@gov.mb.ca
Virology Inquiries
(PCR/Molecular Diagnostics, Serology) 
virology@gov.mb.ca
Shannon Korosec
A/Manager, VDS
Shannon.Korosec@gov.mb.ca
Dr. Brenda Bryan
Anatomic Pathologist
Brenda.Bryan@gov.mb.ca
Dr. Karlyn Bland
Clinical Pathologist
Karlyn.Bland@gov.mb.ca
Dr. Marek Tomczyk
Anatomic Pathologist
Marek.Tomczyk@gov.mb.ca
Dr. Md Niaz Rahim
Molecular Biologist
MdNiaz.Rahim@gov.mb.ca 
Dr. Neil Pople
Anatomic Pathologist/Veterinary Microbiologist
Neil.Pople@gov.mb.ca
 

Contact Us

Veterinary Diagnostic Services
545 University Crescent,
Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 5S6
Phone: 204-945-8220 in Winnipeg
Email: vetlab@gov.mb.ca

Useful Links


For inquiries regarding wildlife including CWD, please contact Fish and Wildlife